Clarion My Wayward Son

Drove 3 1/2 hours to have dinner with step-son. Had a great visit and did a little restock shopping for his dorm room. I really miss hanging out with him. He’s such a great guy. I didn’t give birth to him, but I don’t let that get in the way of how much I love him. He was 10 when we met and seeing him grow up into this amazing man has been so rewarding. I know that I can’t claim 99% of what it took to make him into what he is, but I can’t help but think that somewhere, somehow – I have contributed to his nerdiness. I am so proud of that guy!

Since we’ve come this far we’re going to head up into Cincinnati tomorrow to grab geocaches in Ohio and Indiana before heading home. My awesome brother is taking care of Bella the Seizure Cat and Luxor the Attention Whore while we’re gone and my mom and dad said they’d get all persistent with my uncle to take his meds while I’m away. He doesn’t have any appointments until Wednesday. He starts the first of six cycles of chemo and I think shit is about to finally get real. He’s told me that he hasn’t really figured out how he feels about all this. I think being told that you’ve got 6 months to live without chemo or a year with it, and knowing that you’ve got at least six months of chemo ahead of you has got to be an eye-opener. I’ve told him that whether he wants the chemo or not I support his choice and am willing to stand with him for as long as he wants me to. He didn’t respond, but I hope he accepts it as truth. I don’t want to give up on him yet. I just hope he doesn’t give up on himself.

I got to watch some Doctor Who with my nephew last night. We got him a mini sonic screwdriver that lights up but doesn’t make the buzzy sound. He’s tried sonic-ing everything he can think of to see if the insanely bright light and his own noise making will affect anything. It didn’t really work…until he happened to sonic Luxie right before she hacked up a hairball. He was really surprised. I wasn’t surprised that I got stuck cleaning it up.

Checked into a Clarion and headed to sleepy town. There’s grown men acting like idiots at the pool (RIGHT OUTSIDE MY ROOM), the air conditioner won’t stay on, and the power button on the remote doesn’t work. Oh well, I’ve got my man..who could ask for anything more?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

